I’m excited to be premiering the video for the song “Little Lions” by my music project NØISE on Pitchfork today!

September 13, 2016

I’ve been a die–hard music fan since my youth, but I began to understand the structure of music when I learned to DJ 12 years ago. After a few years of DJing with vinyl, I was then introduced to a program called Serato that allowed me to DJ using MP3’s with the same control I had with vinyl. As a bonus, though, unlike vinyl, MP3’s can be edited and remixed. My first production endeavors were simple re-edits of songs for improved mixing. My friend John Goff, a lifelong analog and electronic musician, would help me with these re-edits and indulged me as I became more ambitious with my arrangements. John suggested that we build some original music together. We put some instrumental compositions together, and then serendipitously met Merritt Lear and her former bandmate Joe Cassidy. Merritt added incredible vocals and melody ideas, and Joe added guitar and production/arrangement. We completed two songs, decided to name our project NØISE, and to rush-produce a 7-inch for release at my “50 Shades of Black” art show. I worked up some art for a screen-printed cover, and we cut and glued 500 sleeves to complete the NØISE “Little Lions” 45 RPM 7-inch. Additionally, all 500 are signed and numbered but will still be priced at $10… with no added “art tax.” To be clear, though, this is not an art project with music included; it is a music project with art included.

We were lucky enough to get an enthusiastic response from some our favorite musicians including Moby, Tim Armstrong, the Crystal Method, Phil Hartnoll, Z-Trip, Nico and Touch, SSI, who all did remixes of our two NØISE songs. A remix double LP and poster by Ravi Zupa will be available as well.

More info will be rolling out on www.noiseproject.com with releases of the 7-inch vinyl, the 12-inch vinyl, the screen print and limited edition poster from Ravi Zupa.

Full Article Via Pitchfork:

Shepard Fairey’s NØISE Share New “Little Lions” Video: Watch

From their upcoming Little Lions EP


On September 23, NØISE—a band comprised of Obey founder Shepard Fairey, Joe Cassidy, John Goff, and Merritt Lear—will release the Little Lions EP on Obey Records. The first offering from the release is a video for the track “Little Lions.” Directed by Rickett & Sones, it takes place in a karaoke bar where Lear’s singing hypnotizes patrons into stillness so little girls can steal their things; Fairey’s daughters are among them. Watch the video below.

The EP features two tracks, “Little Lions” and “Automatic,” with remixes from Moby, Tim Armstrong, the Crystal Method, Phil Hartnoll, Z Trip, Nico and Touch, SSI, and John Goff. Find the EP’s artwork below.


Little Lions EP:

01 Little Lions
02 Automatic
03 Automatic (Moby Remix)
04 Little Lions (Tim Armstrong Remix)
05 Little Lions (Z-Trip Remix)
06 Little Lions (Crystal Method Remix)
07 Little Lions (John Goff Remix)
08 Automatic (Phillip Hartnoll Remix)
09 Automatic (SSI Remix)
10 Automatic (Nico and Touch Remix)